Shot of Sports Juice- How to get fired, the Larry Johnson edition

I’ve always been a bit mystified by Twitter and Facebook, and to a lessor degree the world of blogs.   When did we as a society decide that we were ok with revealing too much information about ourselves to the entire world?  Personally, I was very slow to take up Facebook (signed up about a year ago), take up a blog (last month) and still haven’t bothered to sign on to Twitter. 

Now I realize that all of these social media have the potential for establishing relationships, marketing myself and my products, but they seem to have much more potential to make me look foolish one day.   Hence my hesitation to put myself out there.

In my line of work it is plausible that I will one day end up in a courtroom with a lawyer attempting to make me look foolish.  To do this, he or she will go through my work email, my notes from meetings and perhaps even this blog.  I can already see the question, “Mr. Joyce, on your blog you indicated that it was plausible you’d one day end up in court.  What had you done or thought you were capable of doing that would lead you to the court you sit in today?”.   The answer for future reference good lawyer is “Nothing.  I put that in to set up the next two paragraphs”.

The above said, I’m okay with being on Facebook and doing this blog because I’ve had it grilled in me that I should always act on the assumption that everything I do is going to be on the front page of the newspaper.  If I’m faced with a choice that I would feel embarrassed about having on the front page, I choose something else. 

Which brings us to Larry Johnson, running back for the Kansas City Chiefs.  Today he has served a useful reminder to me of the ‘front page’ adage and a useful reminder of why I haven’t signed on to Twitter.  It is too easy and too quick to write something incredibly dumb for the world to see.  Below is Johnson’s Tweet from yesterday which he apparently followed up with a gay slur or two just to ensure no one would be sympathetic to his plight as star running back for a horrible team, making a mere $3.6 million this year.

“My father played for the coach from ” “>rememeber the titans”. Our coach played golf. My father played for redskins briefley. Our coach. Nuthn.”

The quick translation is that his coach, Todd Haley, was a former college golfer and coach.  He never played organized football but eventually got into coaching, rising through the ranks to be head coach of the Chiefs. 

My take is that Johnson is lamenting that he has a coach who he doesn’t believe in, largely in part because he hasn’t gone through the wars as a player.  Which is fine.  Larry’s entitled to his opinion.  Many people don’t think much of their bosses, most of them probably with good reason.  That said, complaining about your boss through Twitter is a bad idea.  Double the badness of the idea if you are famous enough to have your rumblings picked up by the media.

I don’t have any awards for the ‘dumb-dumb’ of the week, but Larry Johnson has the early Monday afternoon lead …

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

