Sports Juice: 2009 Top 5 Countdown

With 2009 coming to a close and the possibility of some friends and family checking out the blog for the first time, I thought I would take a few moments to go back through everything I’ve written since I started in September and pick out the 5 posts that I liked the most. 

 5.  Top 10 Oiler seasons: November 7th.  This was probably the most fun to research.  A look through the Oilers 30  years of greatness with a focus on the best seasons had by guys not in the Hall of Fame.  I think this was my first original content posted over at low on oil.

4. Saturday night double dip:  November 8th.  This post is the only non-sports thing I’ve done thus far.  It is a fun story about the night that Katherine and I had to be two places at the same time and how it all went down.

 3. Snatching defeat from the jaws of victory: December 1st.  Some days I really like this one and some days I think it is tres self indulgent.  Inspired by the Roughriders collapse at the Grey Cup with my take on why people choke at crunch time.

2. Western Conference Analysis: October 18th.  Arguably the post that sticks most closely with why I started a blog.  A heavy statistical focus on what separates the elite from the also rans.

1. Sliced Bread or Stinky Cheese?  Your 2009 Edmonton Oilers: November 5th.  This post takes the #1 slot just based on the title, which still cracks me up every time I read it.  My first post over at low on oil which was a combination of a couple of things I had done previously on my site.  It is a look at what we could expect from the Oilers this year.

Thanks for checking out the site!  Have a safe holiday season and a happy new year!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

