Shot of Sports Juice: Andre Dawson and Dave Stieb

Photographed by: Ronald C. Modra

My congrats to Andre Dawson, who today was named the sole inductee into the Baseball Hall of Fame.  I was reading about the induction on SI.com when the above magazine cover, appearing as a small thumbnail picture on the front page of the site, caught my eye.

It was so small I couldn’t quite tell who was on the cover.  I figured Dawson given his induction, but who was the Jay?  My mind immediately jumped to my all-time favourite baseball player, Dave Stieb.  I clicked on the thumbnail and sure enough it was my hero!*

* When I was a kid I was fanatical about collecting baseball and hockey cards.  From 1980-1988 I probably had every card there was.  The problem was that I was the perfect friend to have if you were into collecting cards.  I was gullible as hell and could always be overwhelmed by volume.  “I’ll trade you these 20 cards for your Tony Gwynn rookie card!” was always the offer; “Ok!” was always my response.  I eventually abandoned what was left of my card collection to my parent’s basement and am today left with a collection of exactly two cards: Dave Stieb’s and Wayne Gretzky’s rookie cards.  I have the two guys that matter.

What a great cover from July 1983 when the Jays and Expos both led their respective divisions.  Once you get past the first few paragraphs, it is a great article and one that will really make Jays fans long for the good ole days when the team mattered.  I am not sure what it will do to the Expos fans, but today is a proud day for those fans.  Andre Dawson should go into the Hall as an Expo if there is any justice left in baseball. 

I don’t have a whole lot to add to the article; I just wanted to put it out there and suggest that you check it out.  While you are at it, you can tell me who your favourite Blue Jays and Expos were from back in the day.  My other favourite?  The Shaker, Lloyd Moseby.  Tim Raines was pretty awesome too.

1 Comment

Filed under Baseball

One response to “Shot of Sports Juice: Andre Dawson and Dave Stieb

  1. ” While you are at it, you can tell me who your favourite Blue Jays and Expos were from back in the day. My other favourite? The Shaker, Lloyd Moseby. Tim Raines was pretty awesome too.”
    You can see more?

Leave a Reply

